Quick Review: Swisse Olive Leaf Gel Cleanser [Glycolic & Salicylic Acid]


I left this sitting unopened for a few months since I was still using my other cleansers. This review took more than a month a few months a year or so to do, since I was once again distracted by life and forgot I had a blog. I purchased this during a 50%off sale (the same time as when I purchased the People for Plants Mist Toner when I was hoarding). I forgot to take photos…so I will have to repurchase it again soon and update this… >.<

First impression: The first time I used this was during my time of month. My skin seemed oilier and my pores seemed a little more obvious than usual. My skin had significantly improved in the past month (I wasn’t using anything in particular for my acne) so I decided to test this out. I definitely did not regret it.

Other impressions: I brought this to Japan with me (the year before last year), and even after using this daily, morning and night, my skin never felt dehydrated from using this product in the winter.

The thing to note is that it won’t dramatically improve your clogged pores/acne overnight, but as long as you take steps to maintain your skin (but don’t overexfoliate) maintain a ‘decent’ diet and have at least 7 hours of sleep, your skin won’t get any worse 😉

Instructions: use twice daily, in the morning and in the evening

Positive:

  • Non-drying as it claims on the packaging
  • Squeeze tube
  • Did not cause redness or irritation
  • Cheap
  • Easily available in Australia
  • No parabens, SLES,synthetic fragrances and colours, petrolatum, silicones, mineral oils, PEGS, TEA, DEA, Urea, Peroxide, Animal products & testing, nano particles

Negative:

  • No travel size

Repurchase: Yes

Rating: 4.5/5

Last words: This is probably one of the few glycolic and salicylic acid products that didn’t make my skin feel stripped of moisture or red and irritated (ones that I used before are long discontinued  or reformulated though).

The only time I used this twice a day was during my time of month, other than that, I found that once a day would suffice.

It is definitely a top 10 favourite cleanser that I have repurchased and will do so again in the future, after using up a few more cleansers that I picked up in Japan again.

If you have any questions, please send me a msg/add me via my twitter, instagram or weibo. You can also just leave a comment which will be sent to my email, since I check my email almost daily.

Dear Swisse,

Please create travel sizes for your products, 

Author of heartairou.wordpress.com

 

Leave a comment