Review – Beyond The God of Patches “Bye-bye Smile Lines” & “Bye-bye Panda Eyes”


I arrived early in the city before meeting a friend. I had nothing to do for 4 hours, so I was curious to see if the store I frequent for Korean products, called Alice’s Diary, had stocked anything new. [They also sell clothing but I haven’t bought any clothes from the store yet because I focus a lot more on skincare and beauty products]. The reason I go there [even though the price is a bit higher than online] is that they have always consistently provided the service that you expect from Korean cosmetics stores [particularly samples] they try their best to help and don’t have the bossy attitude I have encountered at certain stores if you reject a suggestion. [I’m only emphasising this because I went to a particular well known Korean cosmetics chain and didn’t get good service NUMEROUS TIMES].

I spotted the Beyond The God of Patches line due to the ridiculously cute packaging. Fuelled by watching too many Get It Beauty videos, I decided I needed to get some patches in hope of emulating the magic I see on the program. I purchased 4 and got 2 free (There was an offer on it at the time of purchase). Instead of the usual samples that they are great at giving out I got a scarf =]

 

Beyond Bye-bye Smile Lines

My smile line background: I have faint lines around the right side of my mouth about 0.6 cm long and some lines on my nasolabial fold.

Cost: AUD $8.50 each pair

Instructions: Open the package and remove the patch. Peel off the transparent film from the patch to apply the smooth side to the skin. Apply the patch carefully around your smile lines and remove after 20 to 40 minutes.

NOTE: *I personally recommend the full 40 minutes*

First Impression: [I am writing this section after a night out where I noticed the smile lines looking dehydrated. The lines look much longer than they were a month ago. So I decided to start using this first before they worsen like the fine lines below my eyes. >.<] One thing I noticed is that the patches adhere very well. It doesn’t sting and it doesn’t have much excess liquid in the packaging like most patches from other brands. After 40 minutes I removed it and was completely amazed. the gel has actually sunk into my skin. The patch won’t feel smooth any longer and leave the netted material and a bit of gel at the end.

Second Use: I used it the very next day. I got hooked after the first use. Same effect.

Positive:

  • Recyclable external packaging
  • Does not drip
  • Cute packaging [It feels like a birthday card of some sort]
  • Adheres well
  • Size should be suitable for most people
  • The shape fits well around the corner of my nose and mouth

Negative:

  • Lack of English ingredients listings
  • Pricey (The full face masks from the line cost even more 0_0)
  • I always have to check which is the smoother side

Rating: 4.9/5 (Never imagined it would happen so fast…but they can’t be all that perfect so I deducted 0.1 and I might find another brand I love as much)

Beyond Bye-bye Panda Eyes

My panda eyes background: I have fine wrinkles below my eyes that have existed since I was 16. The only eye bags I get are after work or lack of sleep from reading too much manga on my phone.

Cost: AUD $9.50 each pair

Instructions: Open the package and remove the patch. Peel off the transparent film from the patch to apply the smooth side to the skin. Apply the patch carefully around your eye and remove after 20 to 40 minutes.

First Impression: I had high expectations after using the smile lines patch. It also costs a little more than the smile lines so I was hoping that it works. I put this on before driving [I only slept 5 hours( on Get It Beauty they were talking about using masks while in the car on the way to work 0-_^0)] and drove to my destination with it on. It didn’t slide off, but the only thing is I could feel the mesh after 50 minutes. I actually put it on longer while at home but the feeling of the mesh did not feel as obvious. My under eye area definitely looked brighter almost all day (I can’t vouch for the last hour because I was too exhausted to check my appearance in the mirror.

First Impression on boyfriend: Since I tend not to have daily or major eye-bag problems, I decided to try it out on my boyfriend. After 10 minutes he said, ” Can I take it off?” I made him wait the full 40 minutes then removed it and popped some eye cream on the area. It looked more hydrated but the eye bags were still visible. I saw him the next day after he finished work and his whole eye area still looked hydrated. He said his work colleagues said he looks like he has a baby face today.

His verdict: At first he said he noticed no change except that it looked a bit more moisturised….until he got to work the next day >=] He thinks it’s a good product now (Did I mention he never cleanses or moisturises his face and still has better skin than mine >.< )

Positive:

  • Recyclable external packaging
  • Does not drip
  • Cute packaging [It feels like a birthday card of some sort]
  • Adheres well
  • Size should be suitable for most people
  • The shape fits well around the corner of my nose and mouth
  • Works for men and women

Negative:

  • Lack of English ingredients listing
  • The remaining mesh feels a bit uncomfortable
  • The price (I can get a few sheet masks for the price)

Rating: 4/5

 

Last Words: I went back the next day for more. It is a bit more expensive than other brands and does take a bit more time, but the result is worth it. I am still on the hunt for something cheaper and as effective because as much as I love this it ends up putting a dent in the pocket after awhile. I really enjoy it because it plumps out the skin and makes the lines less visible. It is a quick fix and I use this after I put an anti wrinkle serum. I’d definitely say to give it a try if other eye masks haven’t worked too well for you or you spot it at a good price =]

One thought on “Review – Beyond The God of Patches “Bye-bye Smile Lines” & “Bye-bye Panda Eyes”

  1. Pingback: heartairou | Review – Secret Key Gold Racoony Hydro Gel Eye & Spot Patch

Leave a comment