Review – Remington Perfect Curls Ceramic


I was on the hunt for a new curling iron because the one I have been using was my mothers one which is probably from over 10 years ago (I’m thinking maybe even over 20 years now …). This post has been sitting in my drafts for awhile because I haven’t had the opportunity to go out and for a reason to curl my hair and take a photo to show you what the curls can look like. Of course I’m not good with my hair and so

I really wanted a Babyliss curling wand but there wasn’t any that I was interested in or within my price range at the department store. Initially I was going to buy the VS Sassoon Big Hair Soft Curls Styler but I couldn’t find it. I didn’t realise until after my purchase that the VS Sassoon BHSCS was all on a stand on the other side because there was no display model available. I should have searched thoroughly. T_T

I wasn’t even going to touch the Remington Perfect Curls, but since it was the same price as VS Sassoon (and being on a bit of a budget) I decided to purchase it.

Hair background: I have extremely straight hair. Too many people ask me if I straighten it – even my close friends. I have never dyed it – so that is probably why it still looks healthy after not putting too much effort into it. I am such a lazy grub with my hair that I brush it once or twice (If I have to go somewhere) or will attempt to style my hair. I can’t remember the last time I had a hair cut (it was probably well over a year ago). My boyfriend has haircuts more often than I do.

First Impressions: I left it on my dresser for a month before touching it. The last time I curled my hair was over a year ago. I was hesitant to try out the curler, not only because it looks cheap but because I could not recall the last time I did my hair like this. Being a clumsy person, I immediately felt safe after trying out the first curl.

Second Use: I sprayed some heat protection on my hair, let it dry then curled my whole head of hair. I was in a rush so I didn’t heat my hair long enough. The curls held for about 6 hours until it drooped slightly. 10 hours later it was still wavy. I assume it has to do with my lack of technique.

Third Use: The curls held really well because I used a bit more hair spray at the end and curled it for a little longer.

Positives:

  • Good for clumsy people (the plastic around the ceramic barrel does get hot but never burns)
  • Curls are more even (you’ll know when you use it)
  • There is a little clip section at the bottom to hold the end of your hair as you twirl
  • Easy to use
  • Lightweight
  • 2 year warranty
  • Easily available – Myers, Priceline etc etc
  • Affordable (I think it was $39/ $40 AUD)
    Negatives:

    • You can only have curls going in one direction
    • If you have long hair like mine you wont be able to curl hair above the shoulders
    • The plastic around the barrel to protect you from heat feels like it would break with enough force
    • No adjustable heat settings
    • Might be a bit harder to use on shorter hair

    Rating: 4/5

    Last Words: Do not forget to use a heat protection spray. I do recommend this if you are strapped for cash, have long hair or aren’t very good at using other hair curlers – this is pretty much fool-proof. I think it may come in other colours other than pink…at this rate I may decide to pay more attention to my hair 🙂

Leave a comment